London Design Festival medal winners

By Elspeth Pridham
September 22, 2020

Each year, London Design Festival (LDF) recognises the contribution made by leading design figures and emerging talents to London and the industry with four London Design Medals awarded.

This year’s winners were: Paola Antonelli, London Design Medal; Dame Ellen MacArthur, Design Innovation Medal; Yinka Ilori, Emerging Design Medal; and Ken Garland, Lifetime Achievement Medal. The virtual award ceremony was available to watch across London Design Festival’s channels.

Ben Evans CBE, London Design Festival Director, says, “Each year the London Design Medal Jury has a passionate, and sometimes robust, debate about who should win. It is important that they choose four individuals who each have made significant contributions to the world of design. This year the combination of Paola Antonelli, Ken Garland, Ellen MacArthur, and Yinka Ilora is a powerful mix. Paola is the world’s most important design curator, Ken made Galt Toys the best designed range available, Ellen MacArthur’s foundation is setting the agenda on design and the circular economy, and Yinka dynamically blends the colour of his Nigerian heritage with design.”